Well  folks they done it again…… For many years I have been entitled to the Warm Home Discount to help those on struggling to cover utility costs to the value of £140 off the Electric bills. Many Suppliers have different criteria with Pensioners  coming first as rule of thumb.

So this year I dutifully filled in my application to be told all of a sudden I wasn’t entitled when I had checked that I was. I challenged this with the supplier only to be told that it was because I was on Contributory ESA  you have to be on Income Related to qualify and that the DWP had told the supplier to the contrary.

Now I knew I got CB ESA plus a IR top up should have made me eligible. so I call DWP as suggested by supplier for letter of proof, that I was indeed eligible and posted it off to my supplier on arrival.  Lo and Behold  today I received my supplier letter stating that indeed I was entitled to it and my account will be credited in February.

How many more have the DWP denied is the point because not everyone knows which type ESA they get. So folks don’t give up challenge it !